Black Mountain

Drawing on blues, psychedelia, acid rock, Black Mountain’s sound is a cross between darkness,grit and trippiness, with a folky undertow weaving through it all. After debuting in October 2004 on Jagjaguwar with the 12″ Druganaut, Black Mountain stayed with the label for an eponymous full-length, issued the following January. On the album were local players Stephen McBean, Matthew Camirand, Jeremy Schmidt, Joshua Wells, and Amber Webber, listed collectively to preserve the band’s communal ethic. The debut album earned enthusiastic reviews in the music press, and Coldplay tapped Black Mountain to open for them on an arena tour.

In January 2008, Black Mountain released their sophomore album, In the Future, and showed off their willingness to explore proggy (and druggy) territory with the 17-minute opus „Bright Lights.“ The group’s third full-length album, Wilderness Heart, arrived in 2010, and earned the group the Polaris Prize, one of the highest honors in Canadian music. In 2012, Black Mountain released their soundtrack to the film Year Zero, an ambitious documentary about surfing set against a dystopian, post-apocalyptic backdrop. In 2016 Black Mountain issued their fourth proper album, IV, which was produced by Randall Dunn, best known for his work with Sunn O))). The band followed up on the album’s release with an extensive international concert tour. The group’s fifth album, Destroyer, arrived in 2019 and included the single „Future Shade.”